Globalstar Confirms February 5th for Deployment of Final Satellites

Final Launch Will Complete Deployment of World's First Second-Generation Constellation of LEO Satellites

COVINGTON, La., Jan. 25, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) - Globalstar, Inc. (OTCBB:GSAT) today announced that its fourth launch of six second generation satellites has been confirmed for February 5, 2013 at the following time:

10:20 p.m. Baikonur time
08:20 p.m. Moscow time
05:20 p.m. Paris time
11:20 a.m. Eastern Standard Time
10:20 a.m. Central Standard Time
08:20 a.m. Pacific Standard Time

This will be the fourth and final launch from the Cosmodrome in Baikonur, Kazakhstan, completing Globalstar's plan to orbit 24 second-generation satellites. Globalstar has previously launched 18 second-generation satellites in launches that occurred on October 19, 2010, July 13, 2011 and December 28, 2011. Globalstar has placed into commercial service all of the previously launched second-generation satellites.

The February 5th launch is the last launch necessary to fully restore Globalstar's Duplex service to the high level of quality that Globalstar's customers have historically enjoyed. Globalstar's second-generation satellites were designed and manufactured by Thales Alenia Space with a service life of fifteen years, twice that of Globalstar's first-generation satellites.

Globalstar's launch services provider, Arianespace, will utilize the highly reliable Soyuz Fregat launch vehicle. Globalstar, in association with Arianespace, has previously completed eleven launches utilizing the Soyuz, which is credited with more than 1795 successful launches to date.

All six second-generation satellites for the fourth launch have been fueled and mated to the Dispenser, and the Upper Composite has been transferred to the assembly facility near the launch pad where it will be mated to the Soyuz.

Members of Globalstar's executive management team, including Anthony Navarra, President of the Space Program, and L. Barbee Ponder, General Counsel and Vice President Regulatory Affairs, will attend the launch.

Other Articles

img

Iridium Extreme® Satellite Phone On...

Posted On February 20, 2024 By Guy Arnold | 46 min. read

Introduction Embarking on a hunting expedition into the wilderness demands...

read more
img

How Iridium 9555 Satellite Phone...

Posted On February 15, 2024 By Guy Arnold | 54 min. read

Introduction The Iridium 9555 satellite phone represents a pinnacle of...

read more
img

Always in Touch: How Iridium...

Posted On February 14, 2024 By Guy Arnold | 47 min. read

Introduction In an age where connectivity is not just a...

read more
We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. Read about how we use cookies in our Privacy Policy. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies. privacy policy
accept

Your cart

×
Wish Lists